Power View and Marine Rescue on SP24

I will be presenting a session at SP24 on Power View using Marine Rescue Data.

https://www.sp24conf.com/2014-1/Conf/SP24S026/ConfPages/SessionRoom.aspx

The presentation is available here

Hope to see you online.

This entry was posted in SharePoint and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Power View and Marine Rescue on SP24

  1. Clint says:

    Hi Dave,

    Watched your presentation on visualizing. Great stuff, I was looking to implement a visual representation of sales opportunities and how they relate to current business etc. I was wondering if the spreadsheet you used in the demo was available.

    I don’t think I have my data set up properly. I love the automation feature with the date and growing circles. My version of that just ends up showing up and disappearing because of how my data is set up. I don’t want to add a bunch of extra content just to make this work.

    Thanks again, great blog by the way.

    Clint

    • paylord says:

      Hello Clint,

      I cannot share the spreadsheet due to some of the other content but I am happy to try to assist. One thing is to make sure you are using a cumulative measure in your view – TOTALYTD is an ideal option for this. You also need to make sure you have the time/date dimension represented is a way that is usable. There are heaps of blog posts out there on this topic so I will not try to repeat them but essentially you will need a tab for dates, with a row for every date in your date range and appropriate columns including a sort-by column for text-based months – otherwise your months will appear alphabetically.

      Hope this gives you a steer – let me know how you get on.

      Dave

Leave a Reply

